be careful what you believe

id-10054308-danger
There is so much out there on the internet; you need to be very careful what you take on board. (Image courtesy of zdiviv at FreeDigitalImages.net)

A short while ago a well-meaning friend shared a post with me on Facebook about, among other things, how to cure autism (and ADHD, dyslexia and dyspraxia). Her comment to me was that the article made interesting reading; and that it did.

 

I am not a huge fan of Dr Google, or Dr Facebook either for that matter. The problem is, anybody can post any old crap with the guarantee it will reach a wide and often very vulnerable audience; people who are searching for answers because all they want to do is help their loved ones.

This is not a bad thing.

I will admit right now, I did not read to the end of this article because the first few paragraphs made me see red for the amount of misinformation and blatant preying on emotion they contained.

The article started by citing all of the doctor’s credentials, plus her background and personal experience with her own child who had autism. (Notice the use of past tense here; the first step in drawing on vulnerability and desperation.)

The article went on to say:

When we start the GAPS treatment at the age of 2, 3, 4, up to 5, you give your child a real chance to completely recover from autism …

Completely recover from autism!! Right!

She then goes on to claim the following:

(Dr … is) convinced that autistic children are in fact born with perfectly normal brains and perfectly normal sensory organs.

Apparently, autism is caused because children do not develop normal gut flora from birth. This results in the child’s digestive system becoming a ‘major source of toxicity’. These toxins then flow into the blood system and head straight for the brain. And herein lies the kicker:

In children who were not breastfed, I see the symptoms of autism developing in the first year of life.

And so starts the blame game. This is particularly jarring because I have had numerous suggestions made to me over the years, by ignorant people (including some in the medical profession) that it must have been something I ate, drank or did (or didn’t do) during my pregnancy which caused Geordie’s autism. And no — although we tried, he wasn’t breastfed. I am so glad I did not read this article at that time.

Alternatively, I have also been accused of poor and/or indulgent parenting which creates his behaviours.

Sorry … but, anybody who thinks like this … just fuck off! 

Later on in the article, she proceeds to rail against bottle feeding, and against vaccinations. Danger!!! There are so many red-light moments in this piece of writing; sadly there are so many articles like this, and worse, out there and surfing the internet is a great way of finding them. Don’t!

If you want informed, practical, well-researched information on autism and asperger’s there are, in my opinion, two people who should be your go to people: Sue Larkey and Tony Attwood.

I have just watched a 30-minute webinar produced by Tony Attwood in which he talks rationally, and in language we can all understand, about asperger’s; he talks about diagnostics and gives great examples to help us know what it is like to have asperger’s. I have been living this syndrome for 11 years now, have been to multiple courses and have done a lot of (informed) reading — but I still had numerous a-ha moments when listening to Tony speak.

Google the two of them; it will be the best googling you have done for a long while.

I also need to add here that I do not, in any way, hold anything against my friend who shared this article with me. She was doing her own searching to find information about ADHD, came across this article and shared it with me because it was ‘interesting reading’.

And that it was.

** As I have quoted from the article, I am obliged to reference it. Please note, this is not a recommendation to read it, but if you do can I implore you to have your logical hat on, not your emotional one. Please also note, that what I have written here is my personal opinion based on my own experiences and the feelings aroused from reading the article. Some of what is said in the article may actually apply to your own child, just not to mine.

Gaps Nutritional Program: How a Physician Cured Her Son’s Autism  Dr Joseph Mercola ((1997-2017) Mercola: Take Control of Your Health

5 thoughts on “be careful what you believe

Leave a Reply

